March Meerschaum Madness - Let the Madness Begin!

SmokingPipes.com Updates

Watch for Updates Twice a Week

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Drucquers Banner

The Clay King

(Formerly HalfDan)
Oct 2, 2018
Chesterfield, UK
www.youtube.com
You know how this all started right? I used to smoke Pollock clays like my Uncles until my dentist asked how was life in the 1850s since I had pipe notches in my teeth. Back in the mid 1980s you could buy a meerschaum 'cutty' pipe in an antique flea market for less than Five Pounds whilst the very ornate carved jobs went for anything north of £70. Since they looked like what I had been smoking since I was 15 years old but without a clay stem I thought that will do nicely and one thing led to another. Grave robbery was never my thing but I could tell you a few wild stories about a few of London's ancient cemeteries.
@condorlover1 I've got a few Pollock clays myself!

Reactions: PipeIT

brian64

Lifer
Jan 31, 2011
It's amazing to me how popular the lattice designs are. I seem to see more of them than anything else...I know Altinay makes a lot of them too.

It just goes to show there's no accounting for taste, because I've never cared much for it. I don't strongly dislike it, but it just doesn't appeal to me very much. In the classic shapes I mainly prefer smooth...or sometimes a rusticated finish.

didimauw

Staff member
Jul 28, 2013
Burlington WI
It's amazing to me how popular the lattice designs are. I seem to see more of them than anything else...I know Altinay makes a lot of them too.

It just goes to show there's no accounting for taste, because I've never cared much for it. I don't strongly dislike it, but it just doesn't appeal to me very much. In the classic shapes I mainly prefer smooth...or sometimes a rusticated finish.
I hated the idea of a lattice pipe at first. Then I saw one latticed, old, beautifully colored, hard smoked meer, and just had to have one. One picture was all it took.

brian64

Lifer
Jan 31, 2011