March Meerschaum Madness - Let the Madness Begin!

SmokingPipes.com Updates

New Cigars

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Drucquers Banner

condorlover1

Lifer
Dec 22, 2013
New York
So you don't always pry them out of the caskets then! 😂
You know how this all started right? I used to smoke Pollock clays like my Uncles until my dentist asked how was life in the 1850s since I had pipe notches in my teeth. Back in the mid 1980s you could buy a meerschaum 'cutty' pipe in an antique flea market for less than Five Pounds whilst the very ornate carved jobs went for anything north of £70. Since they looked like what I had been smoking since I was 15 years old but without a clay stem I thought that will do nicely and one thing led to another. Grave robbery was never my thing but I could tell you a few wild stories about a few of London's ancient cemeteries.

didimauw

Staff member
Jul 28, 2013
Burlington WI
You know how this all started right? I used to smoke Pollock clays like my Uncles until my dentist asked how was life in the 1850s since I had pipe notches in my teeth. Back in the mid 1980s you could buy a meerschaum 'cutty' pipe in an antique flea market for less than Five Pounds whilst the very ornate carved jobs went for anything north of £70. Since they looked like what I had been smoking since I was 15 years old but without a clay stem I thought that will do nicely and one thing led to another. Grave robbery was never my thing but I could tell you a few wild stories about a few of London's ancient cemeteries.
I'm eagerly awaiting for your thread about these stories. They would go good for March meerschaum madness! I could never get into clays, but they sound fun if you don't burn your hands! Lol

hyperstar

Starting to Get Obsessed
Jun 10, 2022
Formosa, Taiwan
591794.jpg
598738.jpg
598215.jpg

Got these 2 pipes from Agovem on Mar 01. Been smoking them all day since 02.(I had a day-off.)