Pipe Number 6 In The Alaska Pipe Set (Moose Themed)

SmokingPipes.com Updates

Watch for Updates Twice a Week

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

alaskanpiper

Enabler in Chief
May 23, 2019
Alaska
If you missed the first five pipes, you can find them through links 1, 2, 3, 4, 5

While this pipe may not be for everyone, when it comes to this set it means a lot to me. A huge part of Alaskan culture involves the harvesting of wild fish and game to provide the winters sustenance. It has been a part of my life since before I was born (my mother actually discovered she was pregnant with me on a Caribou hunt). By far the most regular and essential part of this lifestyle for us, is the hunting of moose. Not only do moose provide a delicious, sustainable, and ethical food source, but they provide A LOT of it, with a harvest of between 450 and 650 lbs of meat for the freezer from each animal. I have been pursuing moose religiously every year since I was 12 years old, and have not missed a season yet. My family has hunted out of the same camp for nearly 45 years now, with three different generations having harvested moose in the area. Two of those generations have attained pilot's licenses in order for us to continue to hunt out of our beloved lake. To me, it is THE most beautiful place in the world.

Moose are a very interesting creature, somehow constantly toeing the line between majestic beauty and brutish utilitarianism. They adorn countless pieces of Alaskan artwork, but also have earned themselves the nickname of "Swamp Donkey." They can be very graceful, sprinting across swamp or through thick brush silently, or quite loud and obnoxious, bellowing deep cattle-like moans or hard repetitive brutish grunts when rutting, or barbarically stomping any threat to death.