PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.
Apr 7, 2020
Lake Zurich, IL
Good Morning Gentlemen,

I'm new to the world of pipe collecting, but I've acquired a nice starting collection (see photo attached). I have the basic maintenance tools (pipe cleaners, halcyon II and paragon wax, reamer, etc.). Could anyone recommend a good buffing wheel setup? Should I invest in a bench-top buffer?

I love this hobby, and I want to eventually try my hand at making my own briar pipe. I'm no artist, but I think it would be a fun challenge. My father always told me the importance of having the right tool for the job. If anyone knows of any tools necessary for this endeavor, I'd appreciate that advice too. Figured I'd ask the experts...

As always ~ I appreciate everyone's thoughts.

AJ

Attachments

• IMG_7173.jpg
    IMG_7173.jpg
    164.5 KB · Views: 37

sablebrush52

The Bard Of Barlings
Jun 15, 2013
Southern Oregon
jrs457.wixsite.com
With Halcyon and Paragon waxes you don't need a buffer. That's the point of using them. You can follow the directions and get a pretty decent shine, or you can apply a tiny amount to your fingertips, spread a very thin coating them rub in the palms and fingers of your hands while it sets up and dries, and get a really brilliant shine that's as good as a buffer.

Buffers don't kill pipes, people using buffers kill pipes. That's my only gripe against the use of buffers, the softened lumps of wood caused by incompetent and overzealous buffing. Buffing isn't exactly rocket science, and I used buffers daily for more than a decade when I was a professional jewelry restorer. But judging from the pipes I've seen over the decades, understanding the proper use of a buffer clearly exceeds the intellectual capacity of a vast proportion of pipe smoking population.

BROBS

Lifer
Nov 13, 2019
IA
I appreciate your advice, sablebrush.