PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013
Yesterday while doing something else, I heard a brief NPR radio news item that reported that U.S. Veterans Affairs medical facilities have gone entirely no-smoking. They were never open smoking facilities, but have long had smoking areas. Now they join most civilian hospitals and other medical campuses in going entirely no-smoking. With the volatile gasses and requirements for sterility, and as a vet, I can accept this, but I think it can be used as a precedent for other care facilities declining to have any smoking areas at all, which seems a hardship for patients at long-term care facilities where people have few enough pleasures left in life as it is. Can't have pets, can't have conjugal visits, can't have an alcoholic beverage, can's smoke a pipe. That'll kill you if nothing else does. Freedom!!! Freedom!!!

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013
I think best practices in medicine have long ago decreed medical facilities as non-smoking, so I think that is unchangeable barring other changes that might not be good, decline in living standards etc. But I agree that the justification for ruling others' habits and inclinations has to be reconsidered for sure. Wherein do we honor individual freedom and independence? These situations address that crucial issue. It's becoming too easy to step on personal choices, often surreptitiously, inadvertently, or by coercion.

Sep 4, 2019
East TN
“Political tags — such as royalist, communist, democrat, populist, fascist, liberal, conservative, and so forth — are never basic criteria. The human race divides politically into those who want people to be controlled and those who have no such desire. The former are idealists acting from highest motives for the greatest good of the greatest number. The latter are surly curmudgeons, suspicious and lacking in altruism. But they are more comfortable neighbors than the other sort.”

― Robert A. Heinlein