PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

JOHN72

Lifer
Sep 12, 2020
Spain - Europe
Please Rule 9 for titles' rules.

Should I be worried? I am not an expert in distillates. A few months ago I returned a bottle of bourbon to the distilled spirits specialty store. A well-known brand of bourbon. I had it stored like gold. I decided one special day, to open this bottle, it tasted like cologne. There was no problem, I handed it in and got my money back. My question is: Is it normal that depending on the importer, the labels are different, for example as these that I expose here? In one it specifies its original origin from the factory, in the one from the French importer, it doesn't say where it comes from originally. Is this normal? Besides, one is fuller than the other. Thanks for your wise advice.IMG_6322[9341].jpgIMG_6320[9339].jpg

Last edited by a moderator:
Dec 3, 2021
Pennsylvania & New York
While forgeries have become a growing problem, it’s usually higher ticket brands in the aftermarket from the Buffalo Trace Antique Collection (i.e., Pappy Van Winkle, George T. Stagg, etc.—whskies that are under $100.00 at normal retail prices, but are unfortunately commanding thousands of dollars because of small supply and high demand). Woodford Reserve did expand their distillery to add new pots in 2021—it’s possible there was variance in the batches you own. Your photos are too low resolution to make out details, but you might consider contacting the distillery and provide the batch numbers from the bad bottle you got that tasted like cologne. It’s always possible something went wrong and they might even be aware of the problem.

JOHN72

Lifer
Sep 12, 2020
Spain - Europe
I wouldn't be surprised at different labels, those seem to change all the time. The fullness of the bottle is strange though.
Yes, the filling clearly shows the difference. What puzzles me is why the French importer does not indicate the origin of the product, as it is clearly indicated on the label on the right.