PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

OwlTellYa

Might Stick Around
Jul 12, 2023
Upstate NY, USA
I have been smoking a pipe for about 10 months now, and I have tried many different tobaccos. I know now a good bit more about what I might be looking for in a tobacco, and this forum has helped a lot with that.

Right now, I think I am looking for a "comfort food" tobacco. Lately I have been trying tobaccos that I would classify as "gourmet" (e.g., SPC Plum Budding Barrel Aged). I have liked several of these, but they seem to me once-in-a-while tobaccos when I want a burst of flavor and richness to my smoke. But what I really want now is a tobacco that is easy to pack, easy to light, and a generally full "relax into it" flavor. I want the biscuits and mashed potatoes of pipe tobaccos. The codger blends seem to me more of a "fast food" quality rather than comfort food (although tastes vary, of course!).

It seems to me that a lot of people talk about the Lane aromatics this way (1Q, RLP-6), but some of those seem a bit too sweet for my tastes. The first tobacco that has struck me as a comfort-food blend is a nice whiskey cavendish (I like Sutliff's). I think Watch City's Rhythm & Blues is quite nice in this regard also (though at first it gave me a bit of a tongue tingle).

This week I have been trying C&D's Homeward Bound, which is close to what I am looking for but there are some darker notes that I would need to get used to.

Any thoughts about what other tobaccos would hit the right notes?

Reactions: jpmcwjr

burleybreath

Part of the Furniture Now
Aug 29, 2019
Finger Lakes area, New York, USA