PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Es0teric

Can't Leave
Jul 5, 2021
Downriver Area of Michigan
First off, let me say this is my first time trying this blend. I just received it in the mail and popped open a new tin of Dan Tobacco's Tordenskjold Virginia Slices. The tin note smelled wonderful and the tobacco was IMO at the perfect level of humidity to begin smoking.

I packed my first bowl in an Altinay poker style meerschaum and fired it up. My first thought as I was retro-haling was whatever this topping is, it tastes like how Play-Doh smells. Which isn't necessarily a bad thing, I love the way Play-Doh smells. As I got deeper into the bowl, the Play-Doh taste was less evident but still there to a degree. The Perique is extremely mild.

I am enjoying this smoke and it definitely is one of the most unique Virginia flakes I have tasted. I am interested in how this blend will be after it gets a few weeks in a mason jar. Anyone else have any experience with this blend?

playd.jpeg

• Wow
Reactions: woodsroad

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013
Play-Doh smells kind of good, as does library paste and low concentrations of boat exhaust, but I'm not sure I'd want them in a blend. Is the blend Virginia based? Do you know what the flavoring is or is said to be?

• Haha
Reactions: briarbuck

cigrmaster

Lifer
May 26, 2012
Sarasota Florida
When I was testing flakes to load into my cellar, I tried this blend and for my tastes it didn't make the cut. It wasn't bad but I liked John Aylesbury Luxury Flake so much better, so I loaded up to around 150 plus tins on the luxury Flake.

DonutLuvr

Starting to Get Obsessed
Sep 12, 2019
Butler County, Ohio
I’ve found it to be very mild. I smoked several fresh cans of it last spring and summer, I have a stash of it aging I’d like to revisit again soon. The Perique I believe plays a small roll in it from my memory. Very grassy hay taste, citrusy like from what I recall. I enjoyed it and was easy to smoke.

briarbuck

Lifer
Nov 24, 2015