PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Goofeyfoot

Lurker
Apr 7, 2022
Raleigh, NC
Somehow, a couple of scratches appeared on the back of the bowl of a new briar pipe I have. Should I refinish it to try to eliminate that? I’ve never done anything like this before so pardon the lack of knowledge on my part.

olkofri

Lifer
Sep 9, 2017
The Arm of Orion
16000-2.jpg

61Vqlicn77L._AC_SL1500_.jpg

??

anotherbob

Lifer
Mar 30, 2019
In the semi-rural NorthEastern USA
If you're asking then the answer is probably no. If you have the experience to do a good job you would know if that's the step to take or not right away. Generally a good rule of thumb with such things. And it's a pipe unless you spent a lot of money on it like a lot of money, then maybe but otherwise it's gonna get dings and scratches.

Goofeyfoot

Lurker
Apr 7, 2022
Raleigh, NC
The scratch part of it is not the most serious thing in terms of importance. That you can live with. What is probably a little more disturbing as a place it’s about an eighth of an inch wide in diameter where it looks like the “finish“ (if that’s what you call it) is peeled away. Almost like a piece of varnish that wiped off. I don’t know if it is varnish or whatever it is.

Jul 17, 2017
NV
pencilandpipe.home.blog
The scratch part of it is not the most serious thing in terms of importance. That you can live with. What is probably a little more disturbing as a place it’s about an eighth of an inch wide in diameter where it looks like the “finish“ (if that’s what you call it) is peeled away. Almost like a piece of varnish that wiped off. I don’t know if it is varnish or whatever it is.
Pictures?

Reactions: anotherbob