PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Drucquers Banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

andya27

Part of the Furniture Now
Jun 15, 2014
Hi,
My first post here. I'm brand new to pipe smoking. A week ago I purchased a Missouri Meershaum and tried some Prince Albert. The experience was awful. Yesterday I went back to the store, which carries low to mid-level pipes and tobaccos, and purchased a Dr. Grabow and there highest end blend (they call it a Danish blend - whatever that might mean). It is not a flavored tobacco, and a mild fragrance to it. Tobacco are shades of browns, no black.
Following the instructions on the pipe I filled it half way. I found that when lighting the pipe, the smoke would be extremely hot, and I have a tong irritation similar to eating soup that was just a bit too hot. It's still a bit tender today.
So my question - how to avoid that? Or is there no way to avoid it?
Thanks,
-Andy

drennan

Can't Leave
Mar 30, 2014
Normandy
1. Smoke slowly, I like most was smoking too quick

2. Learning to pack a pipe properly, I favour the 3 step method, made the biggest difference to my enjoyment of tobacco Linky

3. Smoke slowly!

tobyducote

Lifer
Jun 10, 2012
New Orleans
Andy,
Tongue bite is a product to pipe smoking...as already stated...smoke slowly and let your tobacco dry out some. The "wetter" it is, the more likely it is to bite. I usually open a tin, put about half in a ziplock bag and put that bag in the center console of my car for 3 days to dry it out. The moisture level of most tobaccos is very high when the tin is first opened. The other option is when you open a tin, let it sit a few days, out of direct sunlight, to dry out some. Good luck and happy smoking
Find a good English, Dunhill 965, and give it a shot.

andya27

Jun 15, 2014
Thanks, gentlemen. Much appreciated. I also recognize that a Dr. Grabow is not a Savinelli, and that it's likely to burn hotter than a better briar pipe.