PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.
Mar 31, 2014
I'm still a newbie to pipe smoking but I'm curious if anyone just doesn't like 1Q? The only two tobaccos I have so far are my b&m version of 1Q and Frog Morton Cellar. I have probably had 5 bowls now of 1Q in two different pipes. I get hardly any sweetness and honestly it tastes a bit ashy and hot. Am I maybe packing it wrong, need to let it dry out? Other ideas? Or do I just not like it?

FMC on the otherhand I really enjoy. Doesn't get hot, nice flavor and very enjoyable. I pack and smoke them both the same way. I really wanted to like 1Q and other aros. Should I try something that is maybe sweeter like a Molto Dolce to compare?

daimyo

Lifer
May 15, 2014
I'm sure some folks will dismiss is as an aro or too mellow but for me, 1Q will always be a loved blend. That said, there is always some folks who just don't like whatever certain blend is being discussed. I would say something is definitely amiss if you are only getting ashy and hot flavors though. I pack 1Q like any other ribbon and smoke it slow. It isn't sweet and aromatic the way stronger aro's are, so don't look for it to be like Connoisseurs Choice or Hobbit's Weed. It should come across smooth and very mildly sweet. I'd say keep playing with it and see if you can't coax some better flavor out of it before discounting it completely. Try and dry it out a bit and see if that helps. At least until you are done with however much you bought. If you don't like it in the end, then don't give it another thought and try something new.

daimyo

Lifer
May 15, 2014
If you love FM Cellar, you might look more to medium blends rather than light fragrant or heavy sweet aros. Try the other FM blends, they are all good blends, even if there's one you do not take to.

cmdrmcbragg

Lifer
Jul 29, 2013