PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Jaylotw

Lifer
Mar 13, 2020
NE Ohio
So I'm new to the game but I try to do a lot of reading before I ask questions. Sorry if this has been answered before.

Flavor ghosting, I completely get it, question is do you guys have dedicated pipes for certain blends? if so whats your way of doing it? Theres a ton of blends but is there a common 8 (Way more I'm sure) tobacco bases for all these blends?

Fn over thinker question. Hahahaha! Thanks in advance

I dedicated my pipes to genres for a while, but forgot which ones were which or only had one pipe with me and wanted to smoke something different and eventually gave up. Now, I have one cob for the occasional aromatic and the rest I just smoke whatever I want in. I can deal with the faint ghosts here and there and it doesn’t detract from my enjoyment. A blend that’s new to me I might smoke only in one pipe for a week or so, just to get to know it...but after that I don’t bother.

I think a good bit of advice to someone new, who maybe only has a couple pipes, is just to keep one for Virginia blends only, as they tend to have more delicate flavors and it might help you key in on those flavors a little better if there aren’t Latakia/Dark Fired ghosts haunting the pipe.

It’s all personal preference at the end of the day really. If I had 100 pipes I’d probably dedicate, but I don’t, so I don’t.

musicman

Lifer
Nov 12, 2019
Cincinnati, OH
My pipes are hard working and dedicated! :LOL:

Seriously though, I generally dedicate my briar pipes to general blend categories. I have a few (3-4) dedicated to Latakia blends, a couple dedicated to Burley-based blends, and the rest dedicated to Va/VaPer/VaOr blends, which comprise the vast majority of what I smoke. Cobs are generally used for Burley or Va, and I have a couple of Meers that are used more generally as well. I have one briar dedicated to heavy Lakelands.

anotherbob

Lifer
Mar 30, 2019
In the semi-rural NorthEastern USA