PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

eljimmy

Lifer
Jan 3, 2021
Los Angeles, California
So I'm new to the game but I try to do a lot of reading before I ask questions. Sorry if this has been answered before.

Flavor ghosting, I completely get it, question is do you guys have dedicated pipes for certain blends? if so whats your way of doing it? Theres a ton of blends but is there a common 8 (Way more I'm sure) tobacco bases for all these blends?

Fn over thinker question. Hahahaha! Thanks in advance

Last edited:

judcole

Lifer
Sep 14, 2011
Detroit
This is one of those things that is very much an individual matter.
I maintain three rotations - one group of pipes for lat blends, one for Virginias, and one for aros. I don't smoke Lakelands, and I don't smoke anything with more than the faintest whisper of perique, so I don't worry about that. I have found, on occasion, that a certain blend works so well with a certain pipe, that I dedicate that pipe to that blend. puffy

eljimmy

Lifer
Jan 3, 2021
Los Angeles, California
Some of mine are blend specific, the rest are genre specific. If I like a blend well enough to dedicate a pipe entirely to it, I commission one for it.
I was coming to the conclusion that I'd smoke similar blends in one pipe. if I really love a blend I would definitely dedicate a pipe to it. Guess the pipe collection will grow as I fall for blends. Thank you for the reply.

You commission one?? Custom pipe?

tschiraldi

Lifer
Dec 14, 2015
Ohio
Genre specific, meaning different pipes for Virginia, Latakia, Aromatic, Lakeland. I don't smoke English or Aromatic blends but will occasionally smoke Lakeland or blends with Deer Tongue. I have a couple pipes set aside for those occasions. Otherwise, all my pipes are dedicated to Virginia blends as that is what I regularly smoke.

eljimmy

Lifer
Jan 3, 2021
Los Angeles, California