Pipes Magazine » Pipe Talk

Tags:  No tags yet. 

Savinelli vs. Peterson "systems"

(35 posts)
  1. kf5eqv

kf5eqv

Login to Send PM

I was looking around at pipes, and noticed the Savinelli "Dry System" pipes look and sound an awful lot like Peterson "system" pipes.

Does anyone know if there is a difference other than name-brand? Is the Savinelli system just a clone of the Peterson?

Dum tempus habemus, operemur bonum
    Posted 8 years ago #
  2. standardgewehr

standardgewehr

Login to Send PM

Peterson passes smoke through a hollow chamber where moisture condenses and is trapped. Savinelli passes smoke around a replaceable balsa wood "filter" that absorbs moisture.

I have no experience with brand S but they seem well thought of. Brand P works well for me.

Posted 8 years ago #
  3. puffintuff

puffintuff

Login to Send PM

I can't tell the difference between the two systems as far as smoking goes,
    but I don't use the filter on the Savs.

Posted 8 years ago #
  4. hilojohnny

hilojohnny

Preferred Member

Login to Send PM

I believe they smoke equally well....The lip hole ( or whatever it's called ) in the stem is slightly larger and different shaped in the Savinelli and I also have removed the filters.

Live Aloha!
    Posted 8 years ago #
  5. jcsnaps

jcsnaps

Preferred Member

Login to Send PM

I smoke my Sav with the filters and it works fine for me. I don't have a Pete system pipe to compare it to.

Posted 8 years ago #
  6. User has not uploaded an avatar

Anonymous

Unregistered

Login to Send PM

I use the sav balsa system as well. Both work just fine at removing moisture to cool the smoke and lessen tongue bite.

I use the Sav system because the balsa filters also fit into a MM cob as well. yes they're the same size as thos crappy medico filter fiendish things that make everything tast like cardboard while doing nothing constructive. So for me the Balsa system has a duel purpose and works well for me too. MY Savinellis have never once gurgled.