Drucquers Banner

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

bersekero

Starting to Get Obsessed
Nov 29, 2023
Greece
Hello all. New to pipes and already ordered an estate 5506-2021 Dunhill half bent smooth bruyere pot in excellent condition. Chamber diameter is 23.20mm. It will be with me soon.

I didn’t know anything about pots and diameters so I decided based only on the looks.

I am only smoking Peterson 965, nightcup and early morning and Davidoff English mixture. I read here that the pot does a good job with these but I am concerned about the smoking ease of the pot shape. I am still learning how to smoke. As a cigarette smoker and vaper this is not very easy and I am still trying to find the right technique and cadence.

The deal is the seller will accept the return of the pipe, provided it has not been smoked. If I send it back they can exchange it for a replacement.

They have lots of other Dunhills to choose.

So the question is should I keep it or send it back and get a nice Dunhill billiard?

Thank you and sorry for my English.

Lumbridge

(Pazuzu93)
Feb 16, 2020
Cascadia, U.S.
A pot will typically have a wider, yet shallower bowl than a similarly sized billiard. I don't notice a flavor difference between shapes or that any particular pipe shape is suited to any tobacco type, but certain cuts of tobacco may be better suited to certain chamber dimensions.
Example: you may find that a flake packs better in a tall, narrow chamber, or that a thick cut tobacco performs better in a wider chamber, etc.

bullet08

Lifer
Nov 26, 2018
RTP, NC. USA
The idea behind the chamber width has to do with complexity of the blend. More complex the blend wider the chamber. This way more of the components in the blend can be burned at the same time giving the smoker experience to fully taste the blend. Simple one type blend doesn't need the width. Narrower chamber will focus the flavor more.