PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

Brelh

Lurker
Feb 14, 2023
Hey everyone!

I have another newbie question since I am not familiar with all the aspects that can affect the quality of a pipe. I have 8 pipes that are working very well for me; one of them is a corncob, and the rest are briars. I really enjoy them all, except for one. I understand I am still a newbie (smoking pipes for one and a half years) and am pretty sure I still make mistakes or smoke too fast. However, as I mentioned before, my other pipes are very enjoyable. I can taste the flavors, the bowl never gets hot—just sometimes warm when I slow down a bit, and everything is perfect again. However, with that one pipe, it's never like that.

I have a hot bowl even after just lighting up the tobacco following the charring light. It even got so hot once that the paint started to bubble, and there is also a strange aftertaste which is fading but still there. Not to mention, this is my only pipe that gurgles, and the bottom of the bowl is always very wet after a smoke, no matter if I smoke an aromatic or an English blend from it. Can someone help me identify the cause? I am not sure if any faults in the pipe could be causing it—bad craftsmanship, material issues, wrong hole—or if it's just me who still smokes too fast. I am not sure what to do with this one; it is the only pipe giving me no pleasure. If it's because the pipe could be of bad quality, I am not sure if it would be nice to sell. Perhaps I'll just keep it on the shelf, or if you all say it's my fault, then I'll just be patient and master my technique until I have a good smoke.

Here are some pictures of the pipe; it is an OpusOne from Lubinski.signal-2024-01-21-161211_002.jpegsignal-2024-01-21-161211_003.jpegsignal-2024-01-21-161211_004.jpeg

Last edited by a moderator:

Jbrewer2002

Part of the Furniture Now
Apr 17, 2023
Somerset Ohio