Whats the Ultimate Pack, Does Tighter = Better Flavour and Burn?

SmokingPipes.com Updates

Watch for Updates Twice a Week

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

stuart

Lurker
Jun 9, 2015
EDIT: Fixed Capitalization in Title (See Rule 9)

Hello all,

Hope you are all well, I have been smoking on and off for around 15 years and continue to experiment with different packing methods. I have seen people load their pipe up quite tight especially thinking about smoking competitions fitting three grams into a pipe bowl. Also, having tried a puff or two on said pipes they tend to have alot of flavour. I find it easier to smoke bowls that are on the looser side, but am wondering whether there is anything which can be done in terms of smoking technique to pack tighter and ensure it smokes better to produce more flavour and burn better? So wondering if tighter is better, but requires more skill to smoke? Interested to hear any thoughts or ideas on this please.

Thanks

Last edited by a moderator:
Reactions: sablebrush52

sablebrush52

The Bard Of Barlings
Jun 15, 2013
Southern Oregon
jrs457.wixsite.com
Hello all,

Hope you are all well, I have been smoking on and off for around 15 years and continue to experiment with different packing methods. I have seen people load their pipe up quite tight especially thinking about smoking competitions fitting three grams into a pipe bowl. Also, having tried a puff or two on said pipes they tend to have alot of flavour. I find it easier to smoke bowls that are on the looser side, but am wondering whether there is anything which can be done in terms of smoking technique to pack tighter and ensure it smokes better to produce more flavour and burn better? So wondering if tighter is better, but requires more skill to smoke? Interested to hear any thoughts or ideas on this please.

Thanks