PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

goldtooth

Lurker
Nov 17, 2011
Dir Sirs and Ladies,
(Post-pre-note, sorry for the length of the post.)
I am a newbie here, and I seek guidance. I have been smoking a pipe for a little while, picking it up again after some years away from tobacco. In the time since I have taken to it again, I have been fortunate enough to receive a little guidance in the matters of good tobaccos. The pleasures and nuances of the smoke are not alien to me at all, however, the immense options for next choice tobaccos to try appear as a grand abyss, the center of which is found a black hole asking only to be blindly fed my dollars.
I have taken well to a few tobaccos, and I will attempt to describe what it is I like about them, so I might receive the best feed back. I have tried a few genuine aros, and really seek no other exploration there. I enjoy Mac Baren's Navy Flake for its mild spice, strength, mild sweetness, and the general purity of its experience. I enjoy Pete's University Flake for the same reasons, though it is a less sweet, and it is gamesome toy for me in its overall nicotine strength--not one to reach for every day, but when the mood hits, it scratches a certain kind of itch. Both of these satisfy something of the child in me that is reminded of sneaking a sniff of chewing tobacco.
I have tried MB's Vanilla Flake, which will remain a go to. It is delicious and easy in every way imaginable. Other light (semi-aros ???) of this sort, I would love to have recommendations on what other dryer, light aros (flakes too) to try. I tried Firedance Flake, and it was too wet and did not impart that true tobacco flavor I found Mac Baren merges so well with topping in Vanilla Flake.