PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Lykkeberg

Lurker
Nov 25, 2019
Denmark
EDIT: Fixed Capitalization in Title - Bob

Hello.
I am new to pipe smoking and have smoked my pipe about 3 times so far, and all 3 times the most dominant taste is just ash.
I was wondering if I am doing something wrong? Packing too loosely or too tight?

I read that some people say that one needs to break in the pipe and the taste will get better, whilst other say that drying out the tobacco is key.

For clarification: My pipe is a briar and the tobacco I am smoking is an aromatic called Amphora nr.8.

But I was wondering what experience you guys have with this?

Thanks.

Last edited by a moderator:

olkofri

Lifer
Sep 9, 2017
The Arm of Orion
It takes a while for the tongue to get used to the new substance and start picking up flavours. Stick with it.

Yes, very soon someone will come and say aromatics are terrible and you should smoke English blends to save yourself from tongue bite and disappointment. What-e-ver. The only thing I'll remark is that you shouldn't expect to taste what you smell in the room note, or the tin note for that matter (not at this stage).

You'll know if you're making packing mistakes if you burn your tongue or the pipe can't stay lit, or both. Aside from that, I find that packing hasn't as much effect on flavour as smoking cadence. Smoke very, very slowly.

Dry the tobacco a bit (but don't let it go bone dry if it's an aro, or you'll definitely taste nothing but ash), and sip slowly. Stick with it: eventually you'll be able to taste an aromatic's tin note. Been there, accomplished that.

olkofri

Lifer
Sep 9, 2017
The Arm of Orion