PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

tony767

Lurker
Dec 25, 2017
As a noob, I've been partial to bent pipe shapes , however I've read where some experienced smokers have gravitated to straight pipes even though they started with bent shapes.
I like to be able to clench easily and also have a good view of the bowl as I light it, but my question is what is it about straight pipe smokers that make them prefer straight pipes?
I've bee considering my first straight pipe purchase, but hesitant to pul. The trigger....

Jan 8, 2013
but my question is what is it about straight pipe smokers that make them prefer straight pipes?
Simplicity, for some. Straight pipes tend to have less issues with passing a pipe cleaner as some bents do. Some just prefer the look of them over bents. There's variety among pipesmokers just as in everything else. Personally, I usually prefer quarter to half bent pipes. But I love the look of some straight billiards.. the Peterson 106 and 107 for example, I find to be a great looking pipe. Don't beat yourself up over it. If you like the look of the pipe you're considering, then go ahead and pull the trigger on it. I was hesitant to buy my first straight as well... felt like I was betraying myself in some way, as ridiculous as that sounds. But I was glad I did it when the pipe arrived. Nothing wrong with branching out and trying new shapes. One of the joys of this pastime/hobby/lifestyle/whateveryouwannacallit is the variety in everything about it. Embrace it and enjoy it.

curl

Part of the Furniture Now
Apr 29, 2014
I like classic pipe shapes, and a lot of those shapes are straight.

I like the Stanwell 32 bulldog, andI like Canadian and Lumbermen pipes.

However, as a practical matter bent pipes work better for me cause I’m a clencher. Fortunately, there are plenty of classic bent shapes.

lasttango

Sep 29, 2012
Wilmington, De / Ithaca, NY