PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

carpart67

Lurker
Jan 21, 2012
Nova Scotia, Canada
I am currently in the process of refurbishing an oxidized vulcanite stem. I'm not fond of the bleach idea so I began with sanding. I've wet sanded with 600 grit and the stem is smooth and black. However, the stem has very small little dots or specks that are yellow in color.
The stem has brass insets, I thought perhaps the spots were brass fragments that got rubbed in during sanding, but they look too large to be created with wet 600 grit sanding. I've also done a similar stem with the same inserts and got no specks(That setm wasn't oxidized when I started). So I'm thinking that's not the cause.
I'm a pipe novice but from what I understand vulcanite is porous. Is it possible these specks are perhaps tiny, but deep, pits that are still oxidized? Should I start over this time wet sanding with 400 to get a little deeper? Perhaps a magic eraser or liquid polish would "reach" into the pits now that I've smoothed it?
Any ideas or suggestions would be greatly appreciated

hnryclay

Can't Leave
Jan 9, 2012
I use a buffer, with rubbing compounds, this is a satisfactory way to clean up a pipe stem. I have never used sand paper, but some here have, I suggest going for the buffer system, little money now pays off later.

nsfisher

Lifer
Nov 26, 2011
Nova Scotia, Canada
lol what is the make of the pipe mate, if its a brigham for example those brass inserts indicate quality of the pipe. 1 dot lower grade, 3,4,5 dot higher grade as the number climbs. As for ur stem, wet paper is fine, then u can buff by hand with micro- mesh. watch a movie and keep on rubbing.

nsfisher

Lifer
Nov 26, 2011
Nova Scotia, Canada
hmm on re reading ur post mate, if ur showing tiny dots over stem, it may well be tiny specks of oxidation that u didnt git cleaned off cause there may be micro tiny pits over the stem

carpart67

Lurker
Jan 21, 2012