Watch for Updates Twice a Week

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

May 2, 2018
Bucks County, PA
Yeah, it took me a while to figure out notes, flavors, etc. I mostly prefer to simply state I really like this blend, it tastes great and leave it at that. Kinda focus on the forest v. the ?s typa thing. ?‍♂️ When I smoke I go in and out of appreciation of flavors v. Whatever I’m thinking or doing at the time. I’m not a connoisseur or aficionado. I simply know what I enjoy. ☕

PS- 633 is a top notch VaPer for sure. ?

Last edited:

futureman

Can't Leave
Jul 9, 2011
Ohio (Displaced Central Texan)
Oops! I hit send before I could finish the review. Apologies to everyone. If I’m permitted to repost…

I’ve been smoking a pipe on and off for many years. My smoking hiatuses have kept me in the state of being a perpetual novice. Rarely can I pick out specific flavor notes or identify a blend’s varietals while smoking.

Last night provided a delightful exception. I came across a small jar of Solani 633 I had stored in 2013. It was rather dry. I have no recollection of ever smoking this. I decided to try it and refresh my memory.
The tobacco was already rubbed out; I didn’t have to wrestle with thick, moist flakes (I have no idea what this tobacco looks or feels like right out of the tin). My wife immediately remarked how much she enjoyed the room note; she rarely compliments the smell of my tobaccos—even those that are presumably endearing to bystanders.

And the taste? Incredibly layered. Waves of smooth sweetness alternating with fairly intense, spicy cinnamon notes. Not nearly as tart or citrusy as some other flakes I’ve smoked. I’ve read this particular flake becomes spicier as it ages. I can confirm this was in fact a spicy smoke, but not to the exclusion of the plummy sweetness also associated with perique blends.