Watch for Updates Twice a Week

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Jul 26, 2021
Metro-Detroit
I haven't really seen a grilling/smoking thread, but have a feeling we have a few pit masters in the audience.

While being a solid cook, I'm just an amateur/hobbiest when it comes to smoking meat. I figured we could get some experts to chime in and share some tips along the way. And what good is a food thread without pictures?

Here is a smoked chicken breast with a cucumber dill salad. I smoked a tray of breasts for various meal prep this week. I have found one hour at 225 is the sweet spot in keeping the breasts moist without a brine.20240525_161441.jpg20240525_161614.jpg

Fuelman

Starting to Get Obsessed
Apr 20, 2024
Indiana
I haven't really seen a grilling/smoking thread, but have a feeling we have a few pit masters in the audience.

While being a solid cook, I'm just an amateur/hobbiest when it comes to smoking meat. I figured we could get some experts to chime in and share some tips along the way. And what good is a food thread without pictures?

Here is a smoked chicken breast with a cucumber dill salad. I smoked a tray of breasts for various meal prep this week. I have found one hour at 225 is the sweet spot in keeping the breasts moist without a brine.View attachment 312929View attachment 312930
The chicken looks good, but those cucumbers look amazing. The thing with chicken breast is how moist are they the second day?

Jul 26, 2021
Metro-Detroit
The chicken looks good, but those cucumbers look amazing. The thing with chicken breast is how moist are they the second day?
The smoked chicken is still tender. Made a Mediterranean smoked chicken salad yesterday with orzo, cucumbers, tomatoes, and an vinaigrette.

20240526_102747.jpg

Then I made a chimichurri smoked chicken with an herbed rice for the lady's dinner tonight.

20240527_152234.jpg

troutface

Lifer
Oct 26, 2012
Colorado
but have a feeling we have a few pit masters in the audience.