PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

HopHand

Starting to Get Obsessed
May 17, 2021
Montrose Colorado
I'm really hoping it's just me and not this pipe as I rather love it but....
I've got a Peterson rusticated Prince Churchwarden I purchased along side a Donegal Rocky (406) to create a matching pipe pair....
The Donegal smokes incredible absolutely couldn't be happier and it's been as comfy as an old hat from the first puff. This Warden on the other hand I'm a dozen bowls into it and have fought almost every moment of the way to the point I still haven't managed to finish a half session without getting annoyed and setting it aside. I'm really new with Briar pipes. Only own 7 all purchased since the first of this month but between them, my cobs and my Meerschaum some 18 or 20 different pipes in total including the entire MM Churchwarden line. I've never had a dang issue like this.
I've tried changing my pack both looser and tighter tried drying my baccy extra and just about everything else I can think of....
Every time I light the pipe get a puff maybe maybe once and awhile two puffs and it's out so I got to do it again. It's more akin to smoking a cannabis pipe then anything else..
I guess my question really is if its possible the issue is some factor of the pipe I as a newbie don't know to recognize or have I just not figured out the magic Peterson Churchwarden touch yet ?‍♂️ Cause at this rate I'm more likely to sell or break this thing before I do.

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013
How does the draw feel when the pipe is empty? Do you have churchwarden pipe cleaners that reach clear through the airway? It sounds like it is restricted in some way. When you take the pipe apart, does the pipe cleaner pass into the shank to the bowl with no problem? My main churchwarden is a Sav 601, no filter, that has always smoked smooth as glass, especially nice in an arm chair, not much for getting up and moving around. I hope you get yours smoking right.

HopHand

Starting to Get Obsessed