PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

trevert

Starting to Get Obsessed
Oct 11, 2009
NC
Hey guys, just wanted to post a bit about the newest addition to my collection. As some of you know, I've been a professional pipemaker for many years, and I was one of the first people to work heavily with morta. Thus far I've worked mainly with Breton morta taken from the bogs around where we lived in France, so I'm very familiar with that material but am on the hunt for other sources of good quality stuff. In Bretagne, the light colored morta was crap - Mostly unusable and not very pleasant to taste (My general guess was, "Needs a couple thousand more years of cooking time). Anyway, I got hold of some stock of a much lighter color and was assured that it was quality stuff, but I wanted to experience it for myself before I thought about turning any of it into pipes to sell. Ergo, my first new pipe for myself in quite a while:
rE8nil.jpg

mj2vel.jpg

YwscMl.jpg

Even though it was mostly a lark and I more or less slapped it together out of some spare parts, it came out pretty well and I'm all happy to have a new pipe to smoke again :D I made it as a 9mm filter pipe because I knew I'd smoke it a lot more that way. So far the material smokes GREAT - I'm in love with it already and it's nice to have a morta that's bigger than a thimble, even though it doesn't smoke anything at all like the Breton morta I'm familiar with.
Anyway, there's my new pipe. Hurray! Smoked it last night while watching the western series "Hell on Wheels" on Netflix and it made a perfect accompaniment.

rigmedic1

Lifer
May 29, 2011
Wow, that is the best looking pipe I have seen ever. I am very fond of rusticated and sandblasted pipes, but I have never seen work like that on briar. Morta is on my PAD list; I hope I find something as nice. The color is beautiful. Hats off to you, sir.

martiniman

Part of the Furniture Now
Apr 6, 2012