PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Peter - CCB

Starting to Get Obsessed
Dec 26, 2019
Santa Barbara, CA
www.etsy.com
I’m a bit embarrassed to even ask, but there’s this sliver of doubt going either way that’s driving me nuts. lol. There’s no stamping on the band and it appears to be aluminum or nickel but I would have assumed they’d use silver bands. I’ve only had a couple so I’m not well versed with the brand and just was hoping for any confirmation. Did they produce bands of various materials or can you tell just by looking with decent certainty it isn’t silver? Normally I’d assume no but I was just hoping for a bit more confirmation. I appreciate any opinions. - Pete IMG_7071.jpegBEA847F6-F107-4156-96A9-2AA4FE1C5AE1.jpeg353CE7AD-C89F-4466-92DE-32BCBA01B7E2.jpeg

Reactions: pipenschmoeker123

didimauw

Staff member
Jul 28, 2013
Burlington WI
I'm no professional, but I'd guess that's silver over nickel. Just had a certain shine to it like my wedding ring.

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013
I'd guess nickel because of the pricing on most Parkers, but I don't know. I don't see Parker pipes sold much. I think Cup O'Joes used to sell a small selection, but I haven't seen them lately. I don't remember any bands on those. This could be an after market addition.

bluegrassbrian

Your Mom's Favorite Pipe Smoker
Aug 27, 2016
Louisville
I've seen a fair amount of older Parker pipes. I'm trying to remember one that had a band that wasn't a repair job.

No patent and date code, so it's post-1957 I believe. The circular stamp would have enclosed the "group size" but it looks to have been gouged in to? Strange. I'm no expert.

Yours in particular is interesting because of the metal shape and even moreso that it's attached to the stem and not the shank. It has a VERY aftermarket look to it. Not bad, just unique.

jpmcwjr

Staff member
May 12, 2015
Carmel Valley, CA