Hello! And How Do You Rotate Your Pipes?

SmokingPipes.com Updates

New Cigars

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

HyggeJon

Lurker
Jul 7, 2021
Hello! My name is Jonathan Cavett. I was born in Cleveland, Tennessee, but now live in Biddeford, Maine. I’ve been smoking a pipe for the past eight years, on and off, but only recently with regularity.

I started out smoking aromatic blends (mixed by a tobacconist in my hometown down south) in a Dr. Grabow given to me by a friend. Once I was able to afford it, I bought a Peterson billiard and smoked that for three or four years as my only pipe.

I made the costly mistake of downloading In Search of Pipe Dreams on my iPad a few months back and have been on a pipe-buying binge since. I now rotate between mostly aromatic blends (with a Peterson flake thrown in there on occassion) and a handful of pipes (three Peterson’s, a Comoy, a Savinelli, and a Stanwell).

I’ve been delighted to learn that many of my favorite writers also smoked a pipe (e.g., Arthur Miller, Shelby Foote, Jean-Paul Sartre, Bertrand Russell). I’ve found piping to be an incredibly pleasurable hobby and joined the forum to enjoy it with others.

My initial question is: how do you choose a pipe for the day? Do you rotate throughout the day or keep one pipe with you at intervals and smoke it on and off to allow it time to cool?

Charlie718

Part of the Furniture Now
Mar 25, 2021
Bronx, New York
I just pick a pipe I want to smoke for the morning (if time allows) and a pipe for the ride home from work. I only dedicated a few cobs to deer tongue blends and all my other pipes aren’t dedicated. My morning smoke if I have the time is always a deer tongue blend so I pick one of the cobs that’s dedicated to that stuff lol. Other then that I don’t consciously rotate, I just smoke what I feel like out of whatever I feel like smoking out of.

warren

Lifer
Sep 13, 2013
Foothills of the Chugach Range, AK