PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

chrisg5lf

Lurker
Jan 11, 2014
Hello! I'm new to pipe smoking and I've researched quite a bit on it. So far, I love it! I'm looking to go buy a good pipe today!! Somewhere in the range from $50-$60. I already have a pipe, a really cheap pipe that I bought at a local store. Any information would be greatly appreciated!! Also, extra brownie points if anyone knows of a good tobacco shop in the Denver/Metro region ;)
Cheers,
Chris

Aug 1, 2012
Personally, I would go to Edward's in Englewood and have the clerk recommend a good pipe for you from his stock. They have a good selection of well priced new pipes as well as a lot of great estate (used) pipes that have been cleaned up by a pro. That, along with one of the better tobacco selections I've ever seen, makes them a no-brainer for me.
Their address is

3439 S Broadway

Englewood, CO

chrisg5lf

Lurker
Jan 11, 2014
Thanks for the reply captain. I just found the "pipe store locator" tab on the site. Pays to look once in awhile.....I was also looking at the Prince Philips site too. Is that place any good?

pylorns

Lifer
Aug 20, 2013
Austin, Texas
www.thepipetool.com
Nording and Karl Erik pipes if you can find them - I've got a Nording semi-rusticated I picked up for around $50 and it was great. Also The Wessex Bristol pipe I got - runs 60-70 is an amazing smoker to my surprise.

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013
I like the idea of going to a pipe shop when you start out smoking a pipe; you'll learn a lot and be

able to view the pipes in person, even if you pay a dollar or three more for them ... and no shipping.

But doing a lot of looking and shopping is also a good idea, to learn all the different specifications.

You may not want to start out with a filter pipe; it is one more item to buy (filters) and it mutes the

flavors of the tobaccos you try. You probably want a pipe without a stinger, an old fashioned metal