3 Fresh Werner Mummert Pipes

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Gregg1980

Might Stick Around
Hi all! So I bought this new Peterson pipe a few weeks ago and have been slowly breaking it in. I’ve noticed all of a sudden these little imperfections. I didn’t really check the pipe before so I’m not sure if they were there before hand or if they are new. Is this quite normal for a new pipe? I am new to pipe smoking but none the less have been smoking this very gently and certainly haven’t sat on it or anything. What do you think?

3AA1963D-6872-4AA4-90F5-F8DE32527391.jpeg

Attachments

• F597F5B1-6DF3-4C16-8393-E43467744A72.jpeg
    F597F5B1-6DF3-4C16-8393-E43467744A72.jpeg
    152.9 KB · Views: 101
  • C815FDD6-3976-481E-A6E7-B2C9DC9CFA79.jpeg
    C815FDD6-3976-481E-A6E7-B2C9DC9CFA79.jpeg
    164 KB · Views: 101

captpat

Lifer
Dec 16, 2014
North Carolina
I see some dings and at least one crack, on the right side near the bowl. It doesn't seem to be in new pipe condition. If it were me I'd mention it to the vendor and see if they'd do anything about it, even though it's been smoked.

Streeper541

Lifer
Jun 16, 2021
Spencer, OH
Well sir, as has been mentioned above... that's not a "new" pipe. Might be new to you, but it has been handled quite a bit to be in that condition. However, doesn't seem to be anything to worry about.

I'll say this though... if it's a issue for you, and you don't get resolution from the vendor, then lemme take a look at it. The Pete 150 is my favorite pipe and I'm always in the market for another one. If it's in good enough condition, I'll trade you a pipe for it.

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013
That looks like some excellent birdseye grain. It's odd that they wouldn't have prettied it up more at the factory. Maybe it was Friday afternoon. I think the pipe is probably sound and I would enjoy it for its virtues. That's some nice grain that shows up well.

Hillcrest

Lifer
Dec 3, 2021
Bagshot Row, Hobbiton