PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Drucquers Banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

smokeyweb

Part of the Furniture Now
Dec 29, 2013
So... I have OCD, and I am a pipe smoker and novice collector going on 3 years. My collection consists of my regular smokers, yard beaters, and unsmoked closet queens. Over the last couple weeks I have been asking myself: What am I "saving" these closet queens for? So when I am dead someone else will get to smoke these beauties and probably not even appreciate them like I do? Well... not anymore! Tonight I lit a match to my first closet queen, and I feel liberated! Time to enjoy my Pristine pipes! I won't live forever, and I can't take them with me! Anyone else struggle with this problem? It has taken me 3 years to get over this hump! Do those of you who have overcome this problem find you enjoy your beautiful pipes more when you actually start smoking them???

didimauw

Staff member
Jul 28, 2013
Burlington WI
I don't believe in closet queens for anything I own.

I love seeing the old dunhill estate pipes for sale, that were smoked daily, rode hard, and put away wet. Caked, cracked, chomped on etc.
True love.

ashdigger

Lifer
Jul 30, 2016
Vegas Baby!!!
Oftentimes when a new pipe arrives by mail I try to have it packed and lit BEFORE I make it into the house. But, I'm sure other struggle like yourself.

bonanzadriver

Can't Leave
Nov 28, 2016
I have a rack with several "born again closet queens".
I probably need to explain that a little bit.
With the exception of my 80's Nording Freehand, that was given to me new as a gift in 1987, and the Luciano that I just won today @ the Pipe Expo in Raleigh, all my other 30 or so smokers are estate briars.
Some of them have only taken a couple of hours to resurrect, others like my Sparkproof Weatherproof Windless Billiard, took me days to bring back to life. I've had it for 6 months now and still can't bring myself to smoke it.