How Come We Don't See Counterfeit Pipes?

SmokingPipes.com Updates

Watch for Updates Twice a Week

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Drucquers Banner

mikethompson

Lifer
Jun 26, 2016
Near Toronto, Ontario, Canada
One of my other interests is watches, and it seems like in that world, counterfeiting is the name of the game. For every real Rolex, there are probably thousands of fake ones. By faked, I mean watches that have a Rolex name on them, but nothing else. There are also 'homage' watches, which look like another brand, but dont carry their name.

It got me to thinking that I don't think I've ever come across a counterfeit pipe. I'm not an expert by any means, but I don't see many threads about someone buying a pipe with Peterson stamped on it, and fi ding out it is something else. I'm sure it has happened, and happens, but not nearly as widespread as I would think.

Why?

Is is because the potential pool of customers is smaller?

With the growing importance of the Chinese market, I wonder how long before it does become more widespread.

Just my 2 cents.

Reactions: Snook and yanoJL

sardonicus87

Lifer
Jun 28, 2022
Lower Alabama
I would imagine a multitude of factors. Probably to start with, that not a lot of people in general think about pipes or pipe smoking, and don't know much about value or not there, so it's not even on the radar (the small customer pool you mentioned). It's not like they can set up a successful street stall like you could with watches. And looking at some pipes on eBay, it can quickly become apparent which sellers there know what they have and which ones don't. I mean, if you asked random people off the street what a Rolex was, almost everyone can tell you that it's a luxury watch brand, even if they otherwise know next to nothing about watches and don't wear or collect them, but how many random people can even guess anything close to what a Dunhill would be if asked?