PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

The Mitre

Lurker
May 27, 2022
North Herefordshire, England, UK
Hello everyone,
This lovely Peterson System Standard 312 has just come in and has a small defect in the bottom side of the bowl. Under a lens it looks like it might have been a factory fix, with some filler in it, that's failed. As a worker of wood I have no problem in sorting it out but does anyone have any ideas about how this should be done?
Look forward to hearing from you guys.

Attachments

• Peterson Standard 312 (3).JPG
    Peterson Standard 312 (3).JPG
    43.6 KB · Views: 81
  • Peterson Standard 312 (5).JPG
    Peterson Standard 312 (5).JPG
    68.9 KB · Views: 81
  • Sad
Reactions: JOHN72

The Mitre

Lurker
May 27, 2022
Here you go then, bee brave, I've never done this to a briar pipe before!
Important thing is to get all the loose stuff out and any flaky edges. If you don't the problem will re occur. A sharp, pointed tool will dig out and remove the loose stuff. I decided to use a two part resin filler that I can colour. I use this type of stuff for furniture restorations, it easy to use and can be finished just like wood. I started out with a mahogany colour, this is in the image om the right with the little dab of white hardener. The middle filler has had a walnut colour added and the left one a darker mahogany. In the light the middle one looked best. When you pack the recess make sure the filler is worked well into the cavity and finished a little proud. It will shrink slightly so you don't want to do it again.
Now I had to be patient and let the hardener do its work. I'll be back later on.....

Attachments

• Mixing filler.JPG
    Mixing filler.JPG
    105.2 KB · Views: 35
  • Filled.JPG
    Filled.JPG
    146.8 KB · Views: 35
  • Digging out.JPG
    Digging out.JPG
    91.5 KB · Views: 35

JimPM

Starting to Get Obsessed
Mar 14, 2021