PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

brut666

Part of the Furniture Now
Oct 7, 2020
Kent, "The Garden Of England"
EDIT: Fixed Capitalization in Title (See Rule 9)

Evening everyone, please could someone point me in the right direction for the correct moisture for tobacco. I believe it's the moisture levels but I'm not really sure. I'm very new at this and struggling quite a lot. I've searched the forum and Google and I thought I had an idea of what I was doing but clearly I don't as sometimes I end up with a third of a bowl wet and stodgy mud like tobacco. I've left some out on a paper towel for an hour, made not a lot of difference. I imagine this has been covered a million times before and I "thought" I had read enough to understand it. A little squeeze and if it puffs back out but stays together it's pretty much ready to smoke. Most of my bowls seem to start fine but once I get to the half way mark, it becomes very hot, I'm constantly relighting and getting frustrated. The enjoyment stops and I just end up digging about in the pipe.
Guidance is what I'm after here please. I must admit I don't have or seem to have as much trouble when using a mm cob but the briars, I've not managed a bowl from top to bottom. Straight, bent or half bent I've tried in them all.
I brought 25 bags of 10g "samplers" and I do seem to struggle with all the different tobaccos equally the same. I understand it's a learning game and I will get better but please help. ?

Last edited by a moderator:
Reactions: PipesRock

bullet08

Lifer
Nov 26, 2018
RTP, NC. USA
You want the tobacco to be dry to feel when pinched between thumb and index finger. Some go beyond that to feel of crispness. What blends are you smoking? Some will take forever to dry and some you don't want to be too dry.

Reactions: PaulTheScandinavian

Capt Morgan

Starting to Get Obsessed
Oct 4, 2020
Dallas, Texas
Evening everyone, please could someone point me in the right direction....