PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

rdoss16

Starting to Get Obsessed
Sep 2, 2019
im fairly new to the hobby and im in the "try everything i can get my hands on" stage. Obviously 1-Q comes highly recommended from just about everyone but i have to say it is not for me at all. Someone had mentioned the room note being "old lady perfume on cardboard" and man did that stick with me. I always get a "artificial" taste from this blend. tin note is great and i love the smell. with it being available everywhere i wish i DID like it, but alas, on to the next blend.

bluegrassbrian

Your Mom's Favorite Pipe Smoker
Aug 27, 2016
Louisville
Try a couple GLP blends like Haddos Delight, Sixpence, and Cairo.
Also dont forget to capitalize the first letter of every word in your thread titles.

jojoc

Starting to Get Obsessed
May 10, 2019
Put it aside for a while and come back to it. My hunch is that as you improve and develop your technique you will find the flavor profile will change. Smoked too fast/hot, 1-q can be a hot steamy mess that does not taste good at all. Packed properly and smoked cool, it can be an enjoyable smoke. However, it may or may not ever hit the spot for you, and that is okay.

Reactions: kg.legat0

rdoss16

Starting to Get Obsessed
Sep 2, 2019
good thoughts @jojoc. ill revisit it down the road and see how it changes for me

pipebaum81

Part of the Furniture Now
Nov 23, 2014
What jojoc said. Aromatics are many new pipe smoker’s dream and can be the hardest to tame. The second pipe I ever bought was my least favorite of the collection until 1-Q. I packed a bowl in there after not smoking the pipe for probably a year. Absolute bliss. The pipe is now dedicated to this fantastic blend.
j/B

alaskanpiper

Enabler in Chief
May 23, 2019
Alaska
Try Sutliff Molto Dolce. It is everything I ever hoped 1Q would be. I don't dislike 1Q though, it's a decent aro.

pipeanddrum

Starting to Get Obsessed
Jan 5, 2016