Tags:  No tags yet. 

Why Do Virginias Taste Harsh to Me?

(61 posts)
  • Started 2 years ago by stevuke79
  • Latest reply from lordofthepiperings
  1. stevuke79

stevuke79

Login to Send PM

Obviously its all personal preference but ive read that virginias are generally more mild.

Ive really enjoyed stanwell fruit and vanilla, macbaren vanilla and mcclelland bombay extra (an aromatic burley/Cavendish, an aromatic Cavendish and an english)

But mcclelland navy Cavendish, blackwoods an matured Virginias (all Virginias) taste harsher and more caustic....

Actually... as i say this... im smoking matured Virginias right now... and its getting much better as i type...

So maybe one of 3 explanations...
    1. This is my first time leaving out the balsa filter
    2. This is my first time breaking up a flake and packing it like ribbon
    3. Maybe as i type... im slowing down... and virginias need to be smoked more slowly...

What do you think?
    Anyone else get sour tastes out of virginias?

Posted 2 years ago #
  2. mso489

mso489

Preferred Member

Login to Send PM

I think you have it with number three, that you are puffing too fast. Sip don't puff. The other two would also contribute. I think with filters of any kind, you tend to puff harder to get the flavor, so it throws you off when you smoke unfiltered. And, smoking flake requires some learning, so you can play around with that, rubbing it out more, packing it a little tighter, until it suits you. Smoked properly, most Virginias are pretty mild.

Posted 2 years ago #
  3. User has not uploaded an avatar

kanse

Preferred Member

Login to Send PM

I may have experienced what you called harshness, in Full Virginia Flake, but it was absent from a flake that had 10 years of age to it.

Try with a filter on, maybe that's what caused the harshness?

Posted 2 years ago #
  4. User has not uploaded an avatar

aldecaker

Preferred Member

Login to Send PM