PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.
Feb 17, 2018
As I've said before, I'm fairly new to the game. What I would like to know is what is the point or ideology of rotating pipes? I have three pipes, a quality Briar, a cheap Chinese billiard style and an old yello-bole. My Briar is obviously the best and smoothest smoking and the one I enjoy all of the time. I plan on purchasing another quality Briar via smokingpipes.com, but that will be in a few more weeks.
Edited by jvnshr: Title capitalization (please check Rule #9)

davek

Part of the Furniture Now
Mar 20, 2014
A pipe can sour after too many consecutive uses, develop an off taste. I have more experience with cobs than briars. They are pretty resilient, you have to smoke one exclusively for many days for it to sour. I usually smoke one all day then pick up another the next. Cobs are cheap, and the best way to start a rotation, regardless of how strict you are about it.

Chasing Embers

Captain of the Black Frigate
Nov 12, 2014
I smoke the same pipe twice daily for a week before rotating. As long as you keep them clean, and moisture wiped out, they'll be okay.

Chasing Embers

Nov 12, 2014
Would you wear the same pair of socks of underwear for a week? Well the same thing applies to pipes!
You could if you cleaned them everyday. Just like pipes.

newbroom

Lifer
Jul 11, 2014
Florida
I have at least 30 pipes in 'rotation' and smoke different ones for different experience.

I agree with chasingembers, you can smoke em repeatedly with maintenance. Keeping the mortise area swabbed, the airway dry, and the bowl clean is all you need to do.

I smoke everything from cobs, cherrywood, and meerscahum, to briar. (mostly cobs and briars)

judcole

Lifer
Sep 14, 2011
Detroit
davek nailed it.

A pipe can sour after too many consecutive uses, develop an off taste