Tags:  No tags yet. 

Virginia Flake recommendation

(41 posts)
  • Started 4 years ago by atskywalker
  • Latest reply from atskywalker
  1. atskywalker

atskywalker

Login to Send PM

I'm having a bowl of my 2013 Christmas Cheer and its blowing me away! Deep earthy sweetness almost caramel in taste with a heaviness and a luxuriousness that I haven't tasted before (I'm relatively new to pipe smoking). I love Virginia tobaccos but this is something else all together. For example, I love Union Square, it has an exuberance and youthfulness to it that is wonderful and is very tasty but also very different sweetness (I would say its the vibrant citrus notes) than what I experience with Xmas Cheer now.

Is there a flake out there that is as deep as this taste of Xmas cheer with age when young :-)? I know age does wonders but I'm sure something out there must have a hint of this depth and musky sweetness of dark Virginias . Any suggestions?

Cigarettes are the Chicken McNuggets of tobacco!
    Posted 4 years ago #
  2. cigrmaster

cigrmaster

Preferred Member

Login to Send PM

McClellend Dark Star
    Rattray Marlin Flake
    Wessex Brigade Campain Dark Flake
    Solani Silver Flake
    Samuel Gawith Full Virginia Flake
    Mac Baren Old Dark Fired
    Orlik Dark Strong Kentucky
    Perterson University flake( this has a nice plum topping)

These should keep you busy for a while.

Harris
    Posted 4 years ago #
  3. agnosticpipe

Orley

Preferred Member

Login to Send PM

Orlik Golden Sliced - there's some debate whether it has Perique in it. IMO it doesn't.

McClelland No. 2025 - called an English Cavendish, but is really a very different tasting Virginia, has a little Xanthi tobacco leaf in it. Just remember, Cavendish refers to a tobacco process, not a tobacco variety. The English use it to bring out the natural sugars in the tobacco, while others use the process to add other flavors.

Have fun!

The pipe smoker formerly know as agnostic pipe