PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

gtclark

Part of the Furniture Now
Oct 3, 2013
If this is old news, forgive me, but I've been smoking a pipe for about 10 years now, and only recently discovered this method for packing ribbon cut. It's about as fool-proof as it gets, and so far, I've had great results. I've used the two-step, three-step and Frank methods in the past, but the swirl method is my new favorite for ease and reliability. Here it is:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=0XHYPso7TXs
Like I said, I've been smoking for about a decade, and just ran across this two weeks ago. Anyone else use the swirl method?

papipeguy

Lifer
Jul 31, 2010
Bethlehem, Pa.
I've been using this method for a couple of years and it works very well for me. It's certainly a lot faster than the Frank Method and just as effective.

pylorns

Lifer
Aug 20, 2013
Austin, Texas
www.thepipetool.com
I too have only recently discovered that - its really pretty nifty, I've sometimes had issues with it so I'm not sure if its the pipe I use or the tobaccco.
Oh and obligatory mention that this is my 400th post!

onepyrotec

Lifer
Feb 20, 2013
Nevada
I was broke in using the 3-step, then switched to the "Frank method" and stayed there. This is the first time I have seen or heard of the swirl...guess I'll give it a whirl :rofl:
Thanks for posting the video. :clap:

kcghost

Lifer
May 6, 2011
Olathe, Kansas
You could just as well call it the McGrane Method. I've never tried it this way and am not sure it is always practical. I am going to give this a try.

flyguy

Lifer
Nov 20, 2012
I've used this method in the past. It doesn't work with every cut of tobacco, in my opinion(IMO). This method works with longer ribbon cut tobacco. It is a fast way to load your pipe.

ghost

Lifer
May 17, 2012
I love this method, and this video. As mentioned above, it works well with ribbon cut.

dryseason91

Can't Leave
Oct 10, 2013
Dublin, Ireland