Pipes Magazine » Pipe Repair and Maintenance

Tags:   

So My Calabash Arrived After All (pic heavy!!!)

(20 posts)
  1. mushjoon

mushjoon

Login to Send PM

Mr. Schrier really knows what's the best. This calabash is fabulous.

And what you are about to see are some detailed pictures of my new (first) gourd calabash pipe.

The problem: it's also my first estate pipe.

I know that I already put a post about taking care of an estate gourd calabash, but I'm still a novice, so I don't really know what the Hell I'm supposed to do.

Since I included detailed pictures, could you please help me out with what I'm REALLY supposed to do?

Oh yeah, and what alcohol should I use? I got a rubbing alcohol (Isopropyl 99%) but somebody once told me that I should not use isopropyl for pipes. Then what the heck am I supposed to do?

What should I do with oxidation of the stem? And how do I sanitize it?

I also realized that a cake is starting to build up in the bowl. What should I do to remove it?

Posted 7 years ago #
  2. jchaplick

jchaplick

Preferred Member

Login to Send PM

Sweet! Would like one of those my self!

Congress seems to believe that 'Children are our future' is a phrase coined by tobacco advertisers.
    Jef I. Richards
    Posted 7 years ago #
  3. bigvan

bigvan

Preferred Member

Login to Send PM

I wouldn't over-think it. As for alcohol, opinions vary on using rubbing alcohol. I use either grain alcohol (like Everclear) or just 151 rum.

For the stem, rub the outside with with the alcohol and for the interior just dip pipe cleaners into the alcohol and use normally. That may not shine the stem or clean the oxidation, but it will sterilize it. There are dozens of posts here about cleaning oxidation; magic erasers, metal polish, oxy-clean. I don't recommend using bleach but there are those who do.

I think you got a lot of great suggestions in your last post. I'd refer to that.

Posted 7 years ago #
  4. loneredtree

loneredtree

Preferred Member