PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

donatello

Lurker
Oct 28, 2013
missouri
Hello, I am a beginner pipe smoker and I am very passionate about learning about the hobby, I have a question regarding corn cob pipes: I have several briar pipes, a peterson, a caminetto, and a don carlos and I like the looks of them very much and they smoke well I guess ( I'm a beginner so I really am still learning) what I am wondering about is that I ordered a couple corn cob pipes off the internet and they seem to smoke better than my briars do….they smoke all the way to the bottom and seem to have no moisture at all, I think they have became my favorite pipes to smoke, my question is what makes a briar pipe so much better and worth the expense?
Edit: Corrected capitalization in title per Rule #9. L.

Number Nine, Number Nine, Number Nine

05venturer

Lifer
Nov 25, 2012
Amery,WI
In my opinion you can't get a better smoke than from a Missouri Meerschaum Cob pipe. I have a few briars but they rarely get smoked as I always reach for one of my many cobs. I think a lot of people think of the cob as too "hick" but I smoke for the pure enjoyment and vitamin N delivery and that is what MM Cobs give me. A lot of members here like the looks of briar much better, but for me its more about the smoke. Also you won't find a better deal than a MM Cob.

Just stay far away from the cheap chinese cobs as they are JUNK.

smokedogrememberthatsht

Might Stick Around
Nov 18, 2012
Florida
Smoking a pipe is something you get better at over time, like playing a musical instrument. I have found cobs are easier to produce a desirable result than briars initially, however as you practice over time you will be able to produce the same result from your briars. Just my opinion. And for me the beauty of a briar is an integral part of the experience, so there's that.

shayde

Can't Leave
Oct 4, 2013