PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

circuitjerker

Lurker
Dec 29, 2009
Hey Bob , great post !! i Just got around to reading it and tried the "Bob Method". It works wonders. Im still a novice smoker and its helping with my wet/hot smokes a bunch . Hopefully this will help me get a good cake throughout and then maybe try some more advanced methods .. Highly recommended to new smoker ,Because it helps it breathe and more room to adjust your tamping , less wet dottle and not as much baccy for those learning patience and technique . Thanks a Million !

mrsmokeyman

Lurker
Dec 19, 2009
i cannot really say how i pack my flakes, other than to say that im more of a folder and stuffer than rubbing it out... in saying that, i have been blessed with even burns from pretty much the get go...
in terms of my mixture packing, im a trickler to the top, then tap on the side of the bowl, to settle, trickle a bit more to the top again and then tamp gently till about 5 mm below the rim. after the charring light it swells to fill the bowl - i tamp again, and im good to go.
With fear of sounding conceited, i have been lucky enough to have figured out packing without any fear of burn problems, however, i prefer to let my pipe go out nowadays instead of smoking the whole bowl in one go... im somewhat of a relaxed smoker lol :)
smoke in peace gentlemen... and ladies :D

cortezattic

Lifer
Nov 19, 2009
Chicago, IL
I revisited The Book of Pipes and Tobacco, by Carl Ehwa, wherein he addresses about 20 or so common pipe problems. Nearly a third of those problems are due to improper packing. This includes everything from tongue bite to flakey cake build-up and bowl burnout. I think we should all be more attentive to this aspect of the pastime/obsession.

peter

Might Stick Around
Oct 8, 2009