PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

spragu

Lurker
Mar 27, 2013
So i'm new to cherry pipe tobaccos. i've been smoking a pipe for about a year now. I was wondering if anyone knows what the best cherry tobacco is. I also was wondering if it is worth getting a corn cob pipe to smoke it out of as to not ghost my briar pipe. Any suggestions?

uberam3rica

Lifer
Sep 7, 2011
Capac, Michigan
1. It is worth getting a cob even if you never put a cherry blend in it, they are actually pretty good smokers.
2. Most(myself included) stay away from cherry blends as they often aren't very good. They usually have a cough syrup taste. Many say that Boswell Cherry Blends are good, but I haven't tried them. A lot of people also like MacBaren 7 Seas Red. I didn't like 7 Seas Red, but you might

uberam3rica

Lifer
Sep 7, 2011
Capac, Michigan
1. It is worth getting a cob even if you never put a cherry blend in it, they are actually pretty good smokers.
2. Most(myself included) stay away from cherry blends as they often aren't very good. They usually have a cough syrup taste. Many say that Boswell Cherry Blends are good, but I haven't tried them. A lot of people also like MacBaren 7 Seas Red. I didn't like 7 Seas Red, but you might

wolfie90

Starting to Get Obsessed
Aug 10, 2012
Huntington wv
I always liked the Middleton cherry you get in the white pouch. But then again I like a lot of the OTC blends. But yes you should 100% get a cob. They come in handy and I smoke mine weekly plus I use them when trying out any new blend.

uberam3rica

Lifer
Sep 7, 2011
Capac, Michigan
And you can make cobs fancy!The stems on cobs are cheap, but Walker Briar Works makes stems,called Forever Stems, for cobs out of vulcanite an acrylic.
Here's my Forever Stemed cob:

102_5854_zps9bf26228.jpg

ghost

Lifer
May 17, 2012
I think I responded in the other thread too, but Top Black Cherry for sure and dedicate a pipe to whatever you choose. I use my Mr. Brog for cherry blends...