PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

eaglerico

Lifer
Jan 8, 2011
I have a rather nice briar pipe and for a long time it was my only pipe. I am still new to the pipe world so I have been trying different blends of tobacco. I am concerned that mixing of many different blends in one pipe is contributing to a fowl smoke in my favorite pipe.
Am I stuck with the ghosts of of tobaccos past or can I remove them easily? How?

cwlinsj

Lurker
Jan 31, 2011
You can clean/sweeten your briar pipes by using the Salt Cleaning Method. Another inexpensive method for you to not ghost that pipe is for you to purchase a few corn cob pipes ($5-7) to smoke from. When adding the alcohol, take care to not get any on the outside of the bowl as it will strip the stain right off.
Here is a set of instructions from eHow.com. Some suggest using cotton balls instead of non-iodized salt so you don't have to deal with the crust & cleaning. If you have Everclear, use that, otherwise Bacardi 151 makes a decent back-up.
Allow the pipe to cool completely. Take out any ash or dottle from the bowl. Remove the stem from the bowl. Set the stem aside on a soft cloth or paper towel.
Place the pipe so the bowl is in an upright position by nestling it in folded cloths or by supporting the pipe in a small bowl filled with rice or beans.
Fill the pipe bowl level with the brim with non-iodized salt. Add alcohol that is at least 90 proof, such as brandy or vodka, dropping it into the salt with an eyedropper. Bring the alcohol level to the top rim of the pipe bowl without overflowing it. Let the pipe soak for 24 hours without disturbing.