Pipe ghosting, should i be too worried??

SmokingPipes.com Updates

18 Fresh Mastro Geppetto Pipes
12 Fresh Winslow Pipes
9 Fresh Caminetto Pipes
4 Fresh Todd Johnson Pipes
3 Fresh Ping Zhan Pipes

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

julesholling

Starting to Get Obsessed
Jan 19, 2011
Sutton, Surrey
I'm new to the world of pipe smoking and made a rookie mistake of getting some Clan tobacco as my first foray into pipes.
I've got my first order of decent tobacco through today (Vanilla Honeydew, 1Q and 7 seas royal) but am wondering if it's ok to just stick a bowl in my corn cob and smoke it or if the previous 4 or 5 bowls of Clan will affect the flavor too much? I'm not too sure i could taste much difference as i'm not too good at detecting the subtle differences yet?
What's the general opinion on putting new tobacco in a pipe. Will it really make much of a difference?

jaxz

Lurker
Apr 23, 2009
The beautiful thing about cobs is they don't ghost, or at least not very well. Smoke whatever you want in the cob, you'll be fine.
When it comes to ghosting (briers) this is a personal preference if you ask me. I think with enough time you'll start detecting the ghosted tobacco in your pipe as you gain more and more experience. If it isn't going to bother you then go for it.
Otherwise, if you want to really enjoy the subtleties of your blends try to build up a small collection of pipes to avoid mixing blends.

romeowood

Lifer
Jan 1, 2011
The Interwebs
Welcome to the forums jules, you've come to the right place to explore your new hobby!

As you'll soon discover from spending a little time on the forums, there's really no way to stop yourself from amassing quantities of pipes and tobaccos now. :wink: So consider that in the equation.

As for ghosting, a lot depends on your smoking style. As jaxz says cobs don't ghost considerably--they "breathe" a lot more than a briar pipe, and in the worst case scenario are easily replaced.