PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

willisk

Starting to Get Obsessed
Aug 27, 2018
So as a newbie I went to a highly recommended tobacconist and told them I was new to this and

They sold me a Missouri hardwood and 3 oz of there blend called sugar mountain for $10.48.

They were trying to push me to buy a 150.00 briar as they put it you can’t truly experience

Pipe smoking with a cheap pipe! I declined and went home to smoke my new pipe and blend. Well after I smoked all that I did some research and found smokers pride was made by lane. Soo I got a 12 oz bad and a can of Prince Albert and mixed some together!! Woe is it amazing and it tastes like sugar mountain ( store blend ) but better. At a fraction of the price!!

So I have to ask do some shops see a newbie and see $ signs?
I plan on ordering a few pounds later in the week of some new tobaccos any recommendations of some that are good to blend together or are good on there own?

I like a stout tobacco yet sweet and something with some nicotine kick ( 26 year smoker) Looking forward to some recommendations

May 9, 2018
Raleigh, NC
I don't think they're really trying to rip off newbies, because if they got that reputation, how would they ever sell to anyone after that first encounter? I think the object is to bring more customers into the fold, not make them feel cheated.
In regards to the blend you got, I mean, they do put some effort into making the blend in the first place, so I can see the price for what it is. If you just so happen to find a mix that works, that's part of the fun, and you get to save yourself the money of buying a blend that someone else has blended for their customers.