PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

armeniandude

Lurker
Apr 17, 2016
Hey all,

I'm a newbie with pipe tobacco and there's so many options and types out there I've been trying to try them all until I really start getting a taste for what suits me. Currently, I find that I really enjoy most McClelland tobaccos ( especially the frog) and am slowly working my way through other brands. But I've seen a few tobaccos that seem interesting (particularly Lane Limited 125th anniversary) that have a description that goes along the lines of "sweet grass/hay field, grassy/oaty,or sweet hay and honey"
My question is, are there any tobaccos you recommend with these notes? That kind of description reminds me of being in a wheat field in Iowa (trust me they grow a lot of wheat with their corn) and reminds me of a warm summer day in general.
For now, I lean towards more mild blends and I don't have a particular preference for aro (as long as it's not heavily cased) or non-aro. Like I said, I am new and without knowledge and anything brought to the table is appreciated!

:)

pitchfork

Lifer
May 25, 2012
Solani 633 (Virginia and Perique) is my go-to for sweet, grassy, honey-like flavors. It's a bit pricey, but one of the best light, sweet VAs out there.
Another in a similar vein is Macbaren Virginia No.1 -- it's definitely bright and grassy, with a light sweetness added to it. BUT, some people's palates (my own included) just don't get along well with Macbaren tobaccos.
By the way, if you're just starting out with VAs, chances are that the first few smokes will taste like hot, smoky air. For whatever reason, it usually takes a bit of time before the palate learns how to get the flavor of VAs. That's not always the case, but don't be too discouraged if the first few smokes are less than stellar.
EDIT: I haven't smoked it, but the Lane Limited 125th anniversary sounds like the kind of blend you're looking for.

newbroom