PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

imagenthat

Lurker
Oct 17, 2013
as many of you know im very new to pipes, therefore i havent quite got proper packing and or lighting techniques down yet. i have improved quite a bit since starting out but as i near the bottom of the bowl i still have lots of trouble with keeping it burning. can you guys give me some tips for the last quarter or so of the bowl? thanks in advance for your help.....
Edit: Corrected capitalization in title per Rule #9. L.

Number Nine, Number Nine, Number Nine

Jan 8, 2013
Are you using the three step method of packing? Maybe you're packing that first bit in there just a tad too tight. You want to lightly pack that first pinch of tobacco, and then a little firmer on the second, and even firmer on the third. Test your draw after each pinch to make sure you're still getting a good draw.

papipeguy

Lifer
Jul 31, 2010
Bethlehem, Pa.
There are many videos on YoutTube dealing with this exact issue and most of them are very good. I've taken to using either The Codger Pinch- which is just grabbing a bunch of tobacco and jamming it in the bowl- and using the Twist Method, where I take the tobacco in the palm of my hand and twist the bowl over it until it is filled. I've found that this method gives a good pack while leaving an air chamber in the bottom of the bowl for a good draw. Tamping correctly is critical and I usually just let the weight of the tamper do the work.

Hang in there; you'll get it.

Welcome to the forum and enjoy your time here.

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013
Good advice all around. I'd add, don't get too fixated on burning the last third or quarter of every bowl.

I enjoy getting down to nothing but white ash, but a little dottle (unburned tobacco) doesn't bother me

much. You can experience some rank taste or bite getting that last little bit, and it's not necessary.