PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Drucquers Banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

chuckp

Might Stick Around
Nov 30, 2015
Full disclosure.........I'm a complete novice. Hate cigarette smoke, dislike cigar smoke, but strangely enough, I find pipe tobacco very pleasing to my nose. So what the hell, going to give it a shot, never smoked before at all. It even sounds crazy to me.
So I'm wondering if a tobacco "genre" is the same thing as what I have read elsewhere as the tobacco "family". With family being shown as English or Virginia or Aromatics or English Aromatics or Burley.
Any other advice would be appreciated. Thanks
Chuck

michaelmirza

Part of the Furniture Now
Oct 21, 2015
Chicago, IL
Welcome! I'd say that in the specific context of pipe tobacco, yes, genre could be synonymous with family, type, category, style, etc. Some of the types have some overlap anyway, but there are certainly defining traits of each. Which are you most drawn to initially?

fitzy

Lifer
Nov 13, 2012
NY
Chuck welcome to the forums. There is a lot to learn about smoking a pipe so don't get discouraged. Also most aromatics don't taste like they smell. Half the fun of pipe smoking is learning what types of tobacco's you enjoy.
Watch these video's on packing as it's a crucial skill that needs to be learned. I go with a version of the frank method.
Pipe packing methods

chuckp

Might Stick Around
Nov 30, 2015
I'm definitely drawn to the aromatic blends. In the smoke shops that are available to me, I so far have really liked the black cavendish, as it smelled anyway, it was Captain Black Dark in a pouch.

mso489

Lifer
Feb 21, 2013