PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

bprivateaerdric

Might Stick Around
Jun 16, 2017
Lexington, KY
I'm still new to this, but I seem to be developing preferences. I don't much like the flavored tobaccos, which I guess are the aromatics. And the English tobaccos scare me. The ones I have sniffed in the store make me think I will be smoking black peppercorns.
Because so far, sniffing in the shop is all I have done. The guy has different tobaccos out in candy jars, so I wander back and forth poking my nose in them.
The ones I like, at least so far, are those that smell like old tobacco barns. This store has another range that smells like horse barns (burley?). None of them have names that I think will have any value in this post, because the guy just makes them up. But FTR, "Mild and Mellow" and "Captain Black" are my favorites.
So my question, and I apologize if this is the wrong place, is if someone can recommend an online source for just plain pipe tobacco that is good quality for a fair price (I can afford tobacco, but I can't afford tobacco I won't smoke).
I know I haven't given much to go on, but I don't even know what to ask at this early point in my smoking life. I will appreciate any comments, questions, or criticism.

saintpeter

Lifer
May 20, 2017
I would suggest - others might disagree - simply buy a pouch (not a tub) of simple tobaccos. In name that would be Carter Hall or even Prince Albert. Many are those whose "tastes" have...oh...gone beyond them to more complex blends, but they are hard to beat for a day-in and day-out smoke. At least until you find your own personal favorite. Oh yeah. And I like buying from 4noggins.

woodsroad

Lifer
Oct 10, 2013
SE PA USA