PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

PipesMagazine Approved Sponsor

Status
Not open for further replies.

mawnansmiff

Lifer
Oct 14, 2015
Sunny Cornwall, UK.
Hello tobacco experts, a pretty simple question for you. Does the tonquin flavour of 1792 Flake diminish over time if stored?
I have been offered a tin with a little age on it and as I'm not a huge fan of the tonquin flavour I wonder if I ought buy it and age it some more in the hope that I will taste more of the tobacco than the flavouring.
Any advice is most welcome.
Regards,
Jay.

mackeson

Part of the Furniture Now
Mar 29, 2016
I'm no tobacco expert, but I have smoked a good amount of this wonderful flake for years. My take...

The bitterness and vanillaish flavor seem to fade a bit, but some of the subtle vanilla and herbal quality do stick around. It mellows a bit with age and smooths out IMO

The only way to know if it rings your bell is to try it. As long the the expense isn't too much more than a new tin, worth the effort I think.

bigpond

Lifer
Oct 14, 2014
Big caveat-I have not smoked 1792. I am a huge fan of Sam's flake which is has tonquin and comes overly wet. I've found 10 seconds in the microwave does diminish the tonquin a good bit.

It is too bad that there isn't a non-flavored equivalent to some of these Lakelands. The cigar-ish flavors of 1792 is delicious, but I can't stand that tonkin bean either. I've heard many say that it is vanilla-like, but to me it is just weird. I would really enjoy just the straight tobacco though.

andrew

Lifer
Feb 13, 2013
To me 1792 is a very bitter taste, like an IPA almost. If you don't like it at all fresh I don't see how you'd like it aged, the only 1792 I've tried was 5 years old and when I found the right pipe it brought out the bitter taste which I enjoy

cynicismandsugar

Nov 17, 2015
Springfield, Mo
Hello tobacco experts, a pretty simple question for you. Does the tonquin flavour of 1792 Flake diminish over time if stored?
No.